Groceries

Yup, its a two times day today. So I have this little ritual lately. The people I live with are really cool and I have started trying to cook them something wonderful once a week as my budget allows. Not that good food has to cost a lot but sometimes the more you can spend, the better the results… not always though. I am back down to the great NZ 12 dollar grocery shop… bread, cheese and raman stlye noodles… “Mi-Goreng”, the red ones… anyway, this week I also bought some pasta, and veges and have made them a lasange. I know, I know, I did pasta last week but I had to work inside a pretty tight budget and Italian food traditionally comes from working inside budgets… Things like Pizza, Lasange and stuff come from servants sneaking bits and pieces from the kitchens of their employers and making do with what they had so… you know… its a fine tradition. The lasange is in the oven now and the house smells wonderful. I love it that they will come home from a hard days work to find the place clean and a meal ready for them. They are good people and I love doing stuff for folks, I truly do.

Last summer I spent in Raglan and the best parts of that were that on pay day I could make something really nice for the people I love. It’s the thing I miss the most about being in a family, cooking for people. So, you know? It’s no surprise that I do it when I get a chance. I have friends who are also broke and I would love to cook for them too  but the occasion never arises, the stars don’t align, whatever. So, that’s all. I have just pulled it out of the oven and now it will sit on the windowsill and set, I like my lasange to be quite firm so that when you cut it it stays in one piece and you can see the layers. My mum used to make it… One day I went to stay at my mate Jasons house for the night and his mum made lasange and it was amazing… Mums was kinda sloppy and was more like stew with pasta in it, Mrs Gables was fantastic, it looked just like Garfield’s from the cartoons and I was a fan from then.  So yeah, if there’s one thing I like writing about more than music it is definitely food.

xxxm

 

 

 

 

 

Author: marktupuhi

Me I write words. Sticky, sometimes filthy words. I write about my life in a way that would make you blush. Without you I'd just be a pile of words, without me... well... you'd be fine... to be read in conjunction with the music here: https://soundcloud.com/marktupuhi